top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureScott A. Deuel

Art I Love

Last month I started doing something on social media that might confuse some people. I have been sharing art: typically, three works of art by a single artist each morning. I title these posts “Art I Love”. It’s not a Lenten discipline, or one of those official social media “challenges”, or the result of a lost bet. No - nothing like that.

Claude Monet, Water Lilies | Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, Kansas City, MO

See, my mind and my emotions haven’t been in the best place lately, for a variety of reasons. And I have been intentionally looking for things that bring me joy instead of focusing on things that don’t. ART BRINGS ME JOY. I love going to museums, reading about art history, and discovering artists that I might not have been familiar with before. I don’t necessarily understand why, but it fills my heart with joy!


So I decided, as a small part of my quest for joy, I would challenge myself: one new artist – every day.


At the time of this writing, I’m up to thirty: 30 artists in 30 days – beginning with my favorite painter of all time, Vincent VanGogh – and I have several more in the queue! I have actually surprised myself with how long I’ve been able to keep it going.


Some of the paintings that I’ve shared are ones that I have physically stood in front of and felt the emotions that in-person viewing can stir. Others I hope to see someday. And then there are some that I know, sadly, I will never have the opportunity to see – but still, I love them all for one reason or another.


So, if you are following me and you are enjoying this little exercise, awesome! I love seeing your likes on my posts and reading your comments, so keep it coming. Don’t be shy to share your opinion either way. However, if you find it annoying or pointless, sorry! But understand, I am really doing this more for myself than I am for anyone else. So, no harm – no foul. Either way, there’s more art to come!


“Life beats down and crushes the soul, and art reminds you that you have one.” - Stella Adler

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page