top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureScott A. Deuel

These are a Few of My LEAST Favorite Things

I consider myself to be a positive person – an optimist – an overall happy-go-lucky kind of guy. I believe that there are far too many people in the world today who spend far too much time worrying about what they don’t like – what makes them angry – what they disagree with. And they tend to express it out loud and online A LOT.

Personally, I make a conscious effort to do the opposite. I think expressing love is more worthwhile than expressing hate. Talking about the things that you like is better than complaining about the things you don’t. But I also understand that occasionally, it can be therapeutic to air your grievances – even if no one really cares. This exercise isn't to receive validation for my dislikes – not to start some pointless debate – it's just to get them off my chest & throw them out there into the ether.


So here goes. Here is a silly list of popular things that everyone seems to like, except me.

  • Mashed potatoes

  • I like funny movies and holiday movies, but I really dislike National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. I find it annoyingly dumb

  • I love classic rock & roll music, but I can’t stand Pink Floyd or Rush and I’m not a big fan of Led Zeppelin either

  • Football

  • Binge-watching TV shows (for me, binge-watching is like one or two episodes per night at the most)

  • Video gaming

  • And while we’re on the topic of TV, I hate all reality and competition shows. Old fashioned game shows are about the only kind of competition TV I can handle, and most of those are pretty cringy too

  • Buffet restaurants

  • Hunting & Fishing (To be clear, I am in favor of these things. I just really don’t ever want to do them myself)

  • TikTok

  • Marshmallows (except in hot chocolate and an occasional s'more)


So, if any of those things listed trigger some sort of rage response from you – maybe that’s more your issue than mine. Because I feel better now.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page